Turkey Week

To start off my week of festivities my mom and I crossed two big things off my list of “to do’s” today. First, we went to our local apple picking farm and even though the season is over, they still have all the animals running around and their shop is still open. I love Russell Orchards not only because they have the best cider donuts and pies, but because it’s been such a memory of mine for years that I can’t go a fall without visiting it once. We did the normal routine of getting our hot cider to walk around with, going to the barn to feed the animals, and then heading back to the store to pick up some pies, donuts, and cider. Nothing makes it feel more like fall more than visiting this farm…I still think the same goat that is there today is the one thats been there since we first started going.

After the orchard, we headed to Gloucester to pick up some fresh fish for dinner (fish is the one thing I miss most while in Colorado). On our way, we passed my favorite hole in the wall restaurant, Farnham’s. Only the real folks from Cape Ann know that the fried clams at Farnham’s beat any other fried clams. I thought they were closed for the season, but it turns out they don’t close until Sunday! This was just my luck because I was so in the mood for a box of clams for lunch. So, we obviously had to stop for a medium box to split and then continued on our way to Gloucester. Couldn’t have asked for a more perfect day!

This truck has been here for God knows how many years

This lil’ guy used to be Big Boy, until he passed, now its Big Darryl

I could eat ten of these easily! They’re too delicious 

We picked up a couple of apple pies and one pumpkin pie for dessert on Thanksgiving 

These bad boys are too good to be true 

Leave a comment